Due to the existence of implied consent statutes in Nevada (and almost everywhere else) most if not all drivers cannot refuse to submit to a chemical test (of their breath or blood) legally. While the consequences in the conduct of the criminal prosecution are more nebulous, the effect of a refusal on your driver license are less circumspect. The consequences are swift, harsh, and most often, irrevocable.
Refusal of a chemical test in Nevada will result in an ADDITIONAL revocation and/or suspension of your driver’s license for a minimum of 1 year and as many as 3 years, depending upon your existing driving history. The more demerit points, prior DUIs, prior Reckless Driving dispositions, and periods of suspension or revocation in your driving record will become very relevant. More often than not, refusing the chemical test will do you more long term harm than good, unfortunately.